Previous Page

Margaret Jacobs: Steel Medicine

Sculpture

Margaret Jacobs celebrates Indigenous culture with a bold, powerful aesthetic. Her steel sculptures depict medicinal plants alongside tools associated with early twentieth-century Mohawk Ironworkers. In this unique coupling, Jacobs explores the tension and harmony between forces of nature and forces of man, addressing ideas such as natural cycles of decay and growth. Drawing on her metalsmithing techniques as a jeweler, Jacobs uses stark lines, organic forms, and intricate links of steel to emphasize the resilience and fragility of nature. Her Steel Medicine and Survival Medicine series are on view, as well as new artwork created especially for this exhibition at the Boise Art Museum.

Dates in your area:
Boise Art Museum
• Sun 8/25/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 8/27/19 - Sat 8/31/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 9/1/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 9/3/19 - Sat 9/7/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 9/8/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 9/10/19 - Sat 9/14/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 9/15/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 9/17/19 - Sat 9/21/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 9/22/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 9/24/19 - Sat 9/28/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 9/29/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 10/1/19 - Sat 10/5/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 10/6/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 10/8/19 - Sat 10/12/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 10/13/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 10/15/19 - Sat 10/19/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 10/20/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 10/22/19 - Sat 10/26/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 10/27/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 10/29/19 - Sat 11/2/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 11/3/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 11/5/19 - Sat 11/9/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 11/10/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 11/12/19 - Sat 11/16/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 11/17/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 11/19/19 - Sat 11/23/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 11/24/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 11/26/19 - Wed 11/27/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Fri 11/29/19 - Sat 11/30/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 12/1/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 12/3/19 - Sat 12/7/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 12/8/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 12/10/19 - Sat 12/14/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 12/15/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 12/17/19 - Sat 12/21/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 12/22/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 12/24/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 12/26/19 - Sat 12/28/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 12/29/19 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 12/31/19 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Thu 1/2/20 - Sat 1/4/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 1/5/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 1/7/20 - Sat 1/11/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 1/12/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 1/14/20 - Sat 1/18/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 1/19/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 1/21/20 - Sat 1/25/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 1/26/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 1/28/20 - Sat 2/1/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 2/2/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 2/4/20 - Sat 2/8/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 2/9/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 2/11/20 - Sat 2/15/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 2/16/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 2/18/20 - Sat 2/22/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 2/23/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 2/25/20 - Sat 2/29/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 3/1/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 3/3/20 - Sat 3/7/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 3/8/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 3/10/20 - Sat 3/14/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 3/15/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 3/17/20 - Sat 3/21/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 3/22/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 3/24/20 - Sat 3/28/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 3/29/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 3/31/20 - Sat 4/4/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 4/5/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 4/7/20 - Sat 4/11/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 4/12/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 4/14/20 - Sat 4/18/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 4/19/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM
• Tue 4/21/20 - Sat 4/25/20 at 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
• Sun 4/26/20 at 12:00 PM - 5:00 PM